If you have been following my blog, you know how I am a high school volleyball player.
If this is you’re first time seeing my blog, hey! My name is Janae and I’m a sophomore in high school. I also play volleyball.

I’ve been playing volleyball since the 3rd grade, and it has been an absolutely incredible and a one-in-a-lifetime journey. It has also been challenging and rocky. During the year of 2012, I was in the 3rd grade when my father past away. Volleyball was absolutely a hard day-to-day experience when you are going through something traumatic. Some days volleyball was the best thing I could do to get my mind of off everything and, others it was the worst thing to do. My father inspired me to never give up on my dream and my goals. Losing my father at a really young age made me not want to follow my dream of continuing playing volleyball, but I did not give up.

Also when you are an athlete, many teachers, coaches and parents expect much more from you than any other non-athletic student. (I do not know why, but coaches, teachers, and parents do). During high school you are faced with many temptations such as partying, sex, dropping out, peer pressure, etc., As an athlete in high school, you are always expected to do the right thing.

MUST READ:

There is always a better situation coming, I promise. Everything will get better for you as time goes on. Keep fighting because there’s light at the end of the tunnel.